I recently received a message from a Terb'er in regard to my "first unread message" comment. I have noticed that the new board now follows the same principle as the old board where you are taken to the first unread message of a post. You should keep in mind though that all posts that are "pre-new board" are considered new and the first time you open them you will be taken to the original post. Hoping that doesn't confuse you...LOL
Btw...I didn't change anything in my settings for this to occur...