Any photography experts out there?

DGrohl

Jan 11, 2008
Hi everyone,

I'm a photography novice and am looking for some advice.

Ever see the show Departures?
http://www.departuresentertainment.com/about.html

Amazing show about two/three guys traveling the world. The photography/cinematography in the show is unbelievable. Simply beautiful shots - all taken by one guy named Andre Dupuis.

Through a bit of research, I found out that he uses a Panasonic HVX200 video cam...

I'd like to replicate the vividness and epic shots he gets on the show with my Nikon D40. I know it's all about composition, lighting, settings on camera but I'm pretty sure I'm not able to achieve what I'm looking for with the basic lens I've got.

I'm assuming I can do this with a new lens or a filter of some sort?

Can anyone help out?

tboy

resident smartass
Aug 18, 2001
way out in left field
Yeah, you're on the right track. The difference between an awesome shot and a snapshot? Your eye.......

Different lens' create different images. Longer lens' tend to flatten the image, shorter lens' tend to make them have more depth.

Lighting: if you're talking exterior you have to know where the sun is. Typically the best place for a nicely lit exterior is to have a morning sun over your right shoulder. Shadows tend to run away from the camera at a slight angle, the sun isn't at it's brightest etc.

Another think you have to look out for is haze. We do get a lot of humidity in the air and that affects the shot. A polarizing filter will help with that. It can rotate to allow you to control how much filtering it does. This was the best filter I ever purchased and rarely took it off my lens'.

Another thing: take a class. Henry's offers workshops and if you're a beginner, you will benefit tremendously.....

spitze

Dec 29, 2008
tboy said:
A polarizing filter will help with that. It can rotate to allow you to control how much filtering it does.
You mean a circular polarizing.....